Scott County Museum


Dick Rawdon

Lori Saunders 

Chip Southworth 

Arlene Wilson 

Mike Zehnder

A documentary created by Truman ​Holmes & Dustin Burnette

Our Mission Statement:
The mission of the Georgetown and Scott County Museum is to collect, preserve, exhibit, and interpret for public education and enjoyment: books, records, papers, and artifacts or specimens of significant historical and educational interest relating to Scott County history and culture. To fulfill such purposes, the Museum will operate as a public facility on the property of the former Georgetown Post Office, owned by the Scott County Fiscal Court, located at 229 East Main Street, or at such other site(s) as determined by the Board of Directors of the Museum at a future date. 

​​Museum Staff

History of the Museum

The Georgetown & Scott County Museum, now located in the former Post Office Building, began in January 1992 by members of the Scott County Historical Society. The Museum's goal for Scott County is to present more than two centuries of modern experiences and 12,000 years of prehistoric occupation. People and events in the county continue to be honored and make history.

About Us

Mary Ruth StevensDirector
Ron VanceVolunteer Curator
Stephanie MaggardOffice Assistant
Abby NelsonStudent Assistant
Mike MarshallMaintenance

Renee Holmes

Barbara Knox

George McGee

Clay McKnight 

Connie Minch

Jean Porter 

​Museum Board

Georgetown &

Lindsey Apple

Ann Bevins

Gus Bynum 

Tommy Case 

Larry Cassity 

Steve Hockensmith